NAS Held Prize

Here are the details on a brand-new prize that is highly relevant to the TCS community:

The National Academy of Sciences has initiated the Michael and Sheila Held Prize. The prize of $100,000 will be presented annually.  The Prize honors outstanding, innovative, creative and influential research in the areas of combinatorial and discrete optimization, or related parts of computer science,  such as the design and analysis of algorithms and complexity theory. The prize is intended to recognize recent work(defined as published within the last eight years). The prize was established in 2017 by the bequest of Michael and Sheila Held.

The selection committee consists of Richard Karp, Kurt Mehlhorn, Christos Papadimitriou, Eva Tardos, and Avi Wigderson. Nominations are due on October 2, 2017, and information about the submission process can be found at

%d bloggers like this: