CRA and CCC announce Computing Innovation Fellows 2020

The Computing Research Association (CRA) and Computing Community Consortium (CCC) have announced a new CI Fellows program that will offer 2 year postdoctoral opportunities in computing starting Fall’20.

The deadline for application is yet to be announced but will be around mid-June 2020, with decisions being made around mid-July 2020 for positions beginning this fall or winter. We will update this post once a deadline is announced. In the meantime, further details can be found at

Call for Nominations for TALG new Editor-in-Chief

Prof. David Shmoys is chairing the committee to identify a new Editor-in-Chief for ACM Trans. on Algorithms.  The deadline for nominations is Jun 8th. Please see details below.

ACM TALG (webpage: publishes original research of the highest quality dealing with algorithms. It is a peer-reviewed journal, appearing quarterly. Specific areas of computation covered by the journal are listed at

We are looking for a well-established person with a strong record of research achievements and service, and with a vision for the future of the field. The term of appointment is three years, to begin late summer 2020, with the possibility of renewal for a second term. The editor-in-chief is responsible for faithfully executing the editorial charter of the journal yet should be proactive in adapting the journal and its charter to changes in the field. A description of the duties of the EiC and evaluation criteria can be found at

The Search Committee members are:
David Eppstein – University of California, Irvine
Anna Karlin – University of Washington
Chris Hankin – Imperial College London – ACM Publications Board Liaison
Dana Randall – Georgia Institute of Technology
David Shmoys – Cornell University – Committee Chair.

All nominees, including self-nominees, should send a CV and a Vision Statement for TALG (at least one page), with subject header “EiC nomination” to the committee chair – .

The deadline for nominations is Monday, June 8, 2020 at 11:59 p.m. (EST).