Two announcements of potential interest to TCS students

1. Simons Graduate Fellowships in TCS: intended for students who have already produced significant results in TCS, this fellowship provides support for two years plus includes travel funds.  At most one application per university, so coordinate with your department chair. The Simons foundation anticipates making roughly 5 awards.  Deadline is May 1, 2012More information.

2. IAS summer school in Computation and Biology, July 9-20, 2012, will explore topics at the interface of theoretical computer science, statistical physics and quantitative biology.  Organizers are Bernard Chazelle, David Huse, and Stanislas Leibler. Information about application procedures and a program schedule can be found on the website:  The program is intended for both PhD students and postdocs.  Application deadline: March 1, 2012. Here is a publicity poster.


DARPA Young Faculty Award program

DARPA’s 2012 Young Faculty Award program  provides grants of $150,000/year for up to 2 years for junior faculty.  The announcement explicitly mentions a number of topic areas, of which the most relevant to TCS look to be:

  • Quantum Science and Technology
  • Mathematics (listing algorithms, geometric and topological methods, combinatorics, and graph theory and network analysis, among others)
  • Computational and Quantitative Social, Decision, and Behavioral Sciences.

Submission deadline is 4pm ET January 19, 2012.

See and the site for more information.

Welcome to the CATCS blog

This is the blog for the SIGACT Committee for the Advancement of Theoretical Computer Science (CATCS).  The aims of this blog and site are to:

  1. Inform the TCS community about funding opportunities that arise, as well as discuss tips, suggestions, and experiences related to funding and funding agencies.
  2. Provide information (nuggets, slides, descriptions, surveys) that members of the TCS community can use to help in explaining the excitement of TCS to the broader public.
  3. Enlist the help of the TCS community for matters vital to the community as a whole, for instance in identifying candidates for NSF program directors, etc.

This site is based on the theorymatters wiki initially created by Sanjeev Arora, Boaz Barak, and Luca Trevisan in 2005, and subsequently transferred to the oversight of the CATCS and maintained substantially by Salil Vadhan.  The porting of the wiki to a blog was done by Boaz Barak, Moses Charikar, and Luca Trevisan (many thanks to Boaz, Moses, and Luca for doing this!).

We hope you find this blog and site useful.  Feel free to contact committee members directly with questions or suggestions.

-Avrim Blum (CATCS chair)