Breakthrough Prize

Nominations for the Breakthrough Prize are due May 31.  The mathematics prize is relevant for TCS researchers.

National Security Science and Engineering Faculty Fellowship Competition

A new-ish faculty fellowship program through the DoD, which looks suitable for TCS researchers working in quantum computation and network science.

Note there are information Webinars about the program on May 24th and 31st.

Call for AAAS Session Proposals

AAAS is a science-wide annual conference with a significant media presence. As such, it’s a great opportunity to get wider exposure of your research area. Some TCS proposals have been successful in the past, for example a recent session on differential privacy.  Here is the call; deadline is April 22.

Some funding opportunities

NSF Algorithms in the Field (see here)  — awards that encourage closer collaboration between theoretical computer scientists and systems and domain experts.  Deadline March 3, 2016.

NSF Expeditions in Computing (see here) — this is for large-scale projects (up to $10 million over 5 years).  There have been a couple of TCS-related such awards in the past (e.g., the center for computational intractability at Princeton). Preliminary proposals due May 2, 2016.

Simons Foundation Targeted Grants in Mathematics and Physical Sciences (see here).  This new program is intended to support high-risk projects of exceptional promise and scientific importance on a case-by-case basis.  Applications accepted on a rolling basis.


Simons Symposia deadline on Friday

The deadline for applying for Simons symposia is on Friday.

TCS has successfully applied for these in past, for example on the topics of Boolean Function Analysis, and Approximation Algorithms.

Program Director opening for the NSF Secure and Trustworthy Cyberspace (SaTC) program

More details here.

NSF Accepting Nominations for the 2016 Alan T. Waterman Award

See here for details. Deadline is October 23rd. Recent computer science winners include Mung Chiang, Scott Aaronson, and Robert Wood.

The National Science Foundation (NSF) is pleased to accept nominations for the 2016 Alan T. Waterman Award. The Waterman Award is NSF’s highest honor. Each year, the Foundation bestows the award to recognize the talent, creativity, and influence of a singular young researcher. In addition to a medal, the awardee receives a grant of $1,000,000 over a five year period for scientific research or advanced study in the mathematical, physical, biological, engineering, social, or other sciences at the institution of the recipient’s choice.

Simons Institute Research Fellowships

The Simons Institute for the Theory of Computing at UC Berkeley invites applications for Research Fellowships for academic year 2016-17.

Simons-Berkeley Research Fellowships are an opportunity for outstanding junior scientists (at most 6 years from PhD by Fall 2016) to spend one or both semesters at the Institute in connection with one or more of its programs.  The programs for 2016-17 are as follows:

* Algorithms and Uncertainty (Fall 2016)
* Logical Structures in Computation (Fall 2016)
* Foundations of Machine Learning (Spring 2017)
* Pseudorandomness (Spring 2017)

Applicants who already hold junior faculty or postdoctoral positions are welcome to apply. In particular, applicants who hold, or expect to hold, postdoctoral appointments at other institutions are encouraged to apply to spend one semester as a Simons-Berkeley Fellow subject to the approval of the postdoctoral institution.

Further details and application instructions can be found at  Information about the Institute and the above programs can be found at

Deadline for applications: 15 December, 2015.

NSF Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowships

Theoretical computer scientists have successfully applied for the following in the past.

Full Proposal Deadline Date: October 21, 2015

Program Guidelines: NSF 14-582
The purpose of the Mathematical Sciences Postdoctoral Research Fellowships (MSPRF) is to support future leaders in mathematics and statistics by facilitating their participation in postdoctoral research environments that will have maximal impact on their future scientific development. There are two options for awardees: Research Fellowship and Research Instructorship. Awards will support research in areas of mathematics and statistics, including applications to other disciplines.
More at

New NSF-BSF program

A new NSF-BSF program with the Division for Communications and Computing of the NSF (CCF) has been cleared for submission of joint U.S.-Israeli proposals.  Details here